Ingredient Spotlight: Tamanu Oil

Tamanu

The star of the show, amirite? I took this outside to capture the natural shimmer of this oil – and this is pure, unadulterated tamanu oil. I’ve never used tamanu before, but it’s going to be in TWO of the new serums I’m launching next week (in both I’m going to blend in 2% carrot seed oil *not carrot seed essential oil* just to be an overachiever). The oil in this pic, and the oil I’ve been testing with, using excessively, and what will be in next week’s bottles is from Madagascar. I’ve been plenty impressed with it, but I’ve read that the South Pacific is where the best tamanu comes from.

I’ve been talking with a manufacturer in Vanuatu (a.k.a. paradise) and I’m waiting on a sample to see what all the fuss is about. Whenever I can, I go straight to the source for my ingredients, but it can be hard to do. I love when I’m able to talk with the people on the ground, immersed in the harvest and processing of what I put in my bottles. From the grower: “This untouched paradise is virtually free of pollution, pesticides, herbicides, fertilisers or insecticides. Crops are grown organically and flourish here in the rich volcanic soils and high rainfalls without the need for chemicals.” Even better, this is a company that exercise fair trade and that is something that needs to be important to everyone.

Have you ever used tamanu oil? I’m blown away by it and I hope you love it too.

Leave a Reply

