Ingredient Spotlight: Coconut Milk Powder

Yesterday I talked about the importance of reading the ingredients on your coconut milk powder. Today I’m going to talk about why you need this stuff around.

I’ve had a life long love of coconuts. For about 7 years, coconut oil has been the only cooking oil in my kitchen. I think coconut milk is the best thing ever (the delicious decadence that comes in a can with a thick layer of cream on top… ohhhh), and you can’t go wrong with coconut granola. I could go on, but I think you get the idea.

I read a lot, a lot, a lot, a lot of skincare recipes on Pinterest. Something I see regularly are face masks and hair treatment DIY recipes using coconut milk. This is very interesting to me, but in all honesty, I can’t bear the idea of pouring my precious coconut milk anywhere but directly into my mouth. But it kept tickling the back of my brain.

Enter coconut milk powder – the answer to all my problems. I love coconut milk powder because it does still have a high amount of fat (5g per tablespoon!), so it retains all its magically moisturizing benefits. Plus, no preservatives is kinda my thing in my products, which makes a powdered milk ideal. Although, when you go to use a mask made with coconut milk powder, it is a bit more stubborn to mix because of the very thing that makes it awesome.

I’ll soon be launching two new face masks featuring my beloved coconut milk, plus a new cleansing grain featuring my moisturizing friend. Be on the look out! I’m going to be doing some serious celebrating – and discounting – when these start hitting the (virtual) shelves!

Leave a Reply

