Coconut milk powder – It’s not vegan?

Would you ever have thought to look at the ingredients in coconut milk powder to check if it’s vegan? I don’t know if I would have if I was using it for my personal cooking needs. Turns out – always read the label!

I’ve been working on many new recipes for The Granola Goat and a couple of them contain coconut milk powder (squee!). This is a new ingredient for me, so when I started looking to source it, I wanted to do some research first. I was really shocked to find that many (maybe most) contain sodium caseinate, which is derived from milk. Ugh. But, if you’re vegan and you’re in need of a powdered coconut milk, there are a few options out there, just be sure and read the label.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s