More Favorites – BOOKS!

I don’t think I’ve mentioned enough books around here. In my last post, I talked about a couple of books, but I have so many more I want to tell you about!

The BEST books I’ve ever read to my child (under 6 mas o menos):Puss in Cowboy Boots

 

Puss in Cowboy Boots by Jan & Phil Huling – a hilarious retelling of Puss in Boots, but you have to read it with accents! Have to!

Dragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin – this is just the silliest and most adorable story about dragons and/or tacos that you’ll ever read. Please don’t miss it!

The Book With No Pictures by B.J. Novak – ok, so it’s becoming clear that I’m into silly books, and this one delivers. If you love nonsense, put this on your hold shelf right now.

 

The BEST books I’ve ever read to my child (6 and over):

The Never Girls series by Kiki Thorpe – my daughter has never been a princess/fairy enthusiast, but she LOVES these books! They involve 4 girls who end up in Neverland. The adventures are fun and exciting and don’t require too much thinking, so they’re great for younger ones who’ve outgrown the short leveled readers.

The Emily Windsnap series by Liz Kessler – more complex stories, and they require more attention to follow, but my 7 year old is able to keep up. I’ve enjoyed these so much that I won’t let my husband read them to her if I’m not in the room – I don’t want to miss anything!

The Storybook of Legends (and others in the Ever After High series) by Shannon Hale – I like the original 3 or 4 books, but there are others by a different author that have been good, but not as good. If your kid likes Ever After High, these books give a lot of backstory and are well written and easy-ish to follow. Even if you don’t watch the series, you’ll enjoy these books. They take classic fairy tales and show you the outside lives of the characters as modern day teenagers. I would gladly read these again.

 

The BEST books I’ve read in the last couple of years:

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling – I adore her and her characters on TV. This book is funny and cute and I love books that are like a bunch of little essays stitched together, they’re easier on my attention span. I’ve read her second book and enjoyed it, but her origin story was better IMHO.

Mayim’s Vegan Table by Mayim Bialik – I wasn’t expecting to put a cookbook on this list, but really this was a good one. The recipes were easy to follow, normal ingredients, and really good. There was a bit more processed food ingredients than I prefer, but I think on occasion that’s a fair trade. And let me repeat – really good. Try the bean dip!

The Woman Who Changed Her Brain by Barbara Arrowsmith-Young – I was kind of thinking this was going to be a propaganda book to sell her stuff, but I really liked it. I love self help and fix your brain stuff in general, but her story was really interesting.

Farm Sanctuary by Gene Baur – This guy is just great. It’s not just a ton of horrific images and stories to convince you not to eat meat. It’s an awesome tale of making things happen and actually changing the world. This guy’s dedication to his cause and how it all happened is inspiring.

Leave a Reply

